Welcomed Visitors

Celtic Music Search Engine

Suggested Albums: "Four Celtic Seasons" - Four Celtic Voices (2014)

I am glad to share with you a review of the New Album  from my friend Celeste Howard Ray.  She began her musical studies at the age of six. Her main influences include Pat Metheny, Enya and Loreena McKennitt. But she has previously also issued previous solo albums such as "Strings of Gold" and "Celtic Blessings". Travels throughout Europe inspired Arthurian legendry/poetry and music to produce "The Gateway". On "Celtic Legend Ensemble" she is inspired by travels to the Celtic Lands and ancient poetry - crosses many boundaries, from eastern Indian to classical and folk stylings.

As I commented on previews posts about her works, she is the founding member of the singular acoustic band "Four Celtic Voices", whose previous album "Four Leaf Clover debuted at #1 on the Billboard World Music Chart, in the Top Ten on multiple Heatseekers charts (check here) , and in the Top 40 on the Independent chart (May 2009).

This new release features a renewed line-up with master musicians like Maria Banks on Celtic Harp;Alison Crossley on flutes and backing vocals, and the former Carrol Crittenden on lead vocals. Celeste plays on this album, bowed psaltrey, harmonium, piano and sings along with her unique fresh and sweet vocals.

Four Celtic Seasons, is a concept album wich focuses on each changing season, and the songs and instrumentals were quite suitable selected according their musical moods. Presenting a wide range of repertoire, from popular titles Danny Boy and Molly Malone to original psaltery dances, jigs and reels. Arrangemens are quite remarkable, specially the three-part harmonies while performing on authentic Celtic instruments.

Ballads by Robert Burns to Irish Blessings and even upbeat dance songs. Transports the listener to the mystical Isle of the Celts. The tracks include not only traditional songs but also some original compositions by C. Ray like the magical "Blessing of the Three" and the subtle instrumental "Celtic Spirit" which captures the very essence of the passion that conveys her journey to the Otherworld  Music.

The "Four Celtic Seasons" CD has been launched just today and it is now available from CD Baby!



1. Will Ye Go Lassie Go (feat. Celeste Ray)

2. My Love Is Like a Red Red Rose (feat. Celeste Ray)

3. Mairi's Wedding (feat. Celeste Ray)


4. Loch Lomond (feat. Celeste Ray)

5. Scotland the Brave / Psaltery Dance No. 4 (feat. Celeste Ray)

6. Isle of Innisfree (feat. Celeste Ray)


7. Irish Harvest Day (feat. Celeste Ray)

8. Celtic Spirit (feat. Celeste Ray)

9. Angels (feat. Celeste Ray)


10. The First Noel (feat. Celeste Ray)

11. What Child Is This (feat. Celeste Ray)

12. Blessing of the Three (feat. Celeste Ray)

No comments:


Popular Posts